Below is the belts and ranking system of Soo Bahk Do Moo Duk Kwan combined with grading requirements.

We have 10 levels to reach Midnight Blue Belt (Black Belt). A Midnight Blue Belt is used instead of black because black symbolizes death in South Korea and the end, where as the Midnight Blue Belt symbolizes continued growth.


Our beginner levels: White Belts (10th geups) Yellow Belts (9th geups)

& Orange Belts (8th, 7th geups)

Our Intermediate levels: Green Belts (6th, 5th, 4th geups)

Our Advanced levels: Red Belts (3rd, 2nd, 1st geups)

Our Midnight Blue Belts (Black belts) (1st Dan, 2nd Dan, 3rd Dan)

Our Master Level (Midnight Blue Belt with red Stripe) (4th Dan, 5th Dan, 6th Dan, 7th Dan, 8th Dan, 9th Dan)

Our gradings are every 3-4 months and as long as the instructor feels you are ready to grade. Once the student reaches 3rd geup, the last 2 gradings before black belt are every 6 months.

Below are the Dan rankings and grading time requirements between tests.

Print Print | Sitemap
Created by Simon Hall July 2016©essexsbd